The Centre is located at the Faculty of the Humanities of the University of Basel. Its  Steering Committee directed by a speaker usually meets twice per semester. Its composition follows the interdisciplinary Research Axes of the Centre. The members drawn from various faculties are elected by the General Assembly, which meets every last Friday of the semester.

The executive office is the central port of call. It operates under the supervision of the Steering Committee and translates its decisions into practice.

For further information see the regulations (Geschäftsordnung) of the Centre.

Members of the Executive Committee

  • Environment and Development
    Prof Peter Nagel, Environmental Sciences
    Deputy: Prof Walter Salzburger, Zoology/ Evolutionary Biology
  • Governance & Civil Society
    Prof Elisio Macamo, Sociology
    Deputy: Prof Laurent Goetschel, Political Science
  • Knowledge Production and Transfer
    Prof Patrick Harries, African History
    Deputy: Prof Max Bergman, Sociology
  • Media and Imagination
    Prof Till Förster, Social Anthropology
    Deputy: Prof Therese Steffen, English and Gender Studies
  • Public Health & Social Life
    Prof Brigit Obrist, Social Anthropology/ Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute
    Deputy: Prof Marcel Tanner, Epidemiology/ Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute

Chair: Prof Elísio Macamo


University of Basel
Centre for African Studies
Rheinsprung 21
CH-4051 Basel
Tel.: +41 (0)61 207 34 82